Skip to content

Diversity

May 3, 2012

Photo Credit: Clippix ETC

Long bitten by the travel bug I’ve been collecting miles since the ’80’s; collecting points have come late in the game, only this year, but yesterday was a great reminder that diversity is important.

There was a great fare from an exotic Asian destination to the US from $160 per person in Business Class.  I spent the good part of my day finding the right travel dates to get the lowest fare possible (I did my work early in the morning to free up the midmorning and afternoon, least you think I wasn’t being responsible).  Having managed to find seats but for $327, the price was still a great travel deal.  The only catch, I had to get there first.

Because 99% of my miles are with One World (LOVE American Airlines) and this destination is served by the Star Alliance I was reminded that I have all my eggs in one basket.  I lost out on an amazing trip at an unbelievable price because I hadn’t planned ahead. For a person who is completely Type A this was a slap in the face.  Can you guess where my focus of earning miles and points are going to be for the next few months?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

